Forums » Bugs & Suggestions

This is why you're lagging

• 21 posts
    January 15, 2017 2:08 PM PST

NOTE: If there's anything I say here that's incorrect, please feel free to reply to the thread and politely correct me. I'm not an expert, I'm just reporting the trends and correlations that we've seen so far, and drawing conclusions based on those things, what we've googled, and previous knowledge. I want this to be an intelligent, non-emotional discussion, so we can help each other figure this out together.

*Important things in this post are in bold.
    *Direct questions for Max are in red.

The Problems in the WebGL Version:

So 24 hours after the return of Warmerise, there’s been a lot of complaints about lag. These are some common symptoms:

- Generally low framerates/fps
         - Fluctuating framerates (between decent-ish and bad)
         - High pings and network lag
         - Occasional crashes

The lag wasn’t this bad before. So what changed from before the shutdown to now?

The biggest change that we can see is that Max ported the game over from Unity Web Player to WebGL. The difference in the background is that Unity Web Player is a plugin (middleman between the browser and the game), while WebGL is a framework built into the browser (no middleman).

Question 1: Max, did you change anything else in the game other than the platform in the Build Settings in the Unity Editor?

About the framerates:

Lots of people are reporting low fps. I have a pretty good laptop computer (HP Envy 17”, with Intel i7 6500 @2.5Ghz, 16GB RAM, and NVIDIA 940M), and before, I averaged 80-150 fps, depending on the map. Now, I’m between 20-50 fps. While the counter says 50 fps, it feels like I’m bouncing between 20 and 50 fps really quickly, or it looks like I’m dropping frames like when someone is streaming. So what’s going on?